ICYMI: Congressman Simpson receives award from United Dairymen of Idaho

Posted on 11/24/15 in Uncategorized, No Comments


BOISE, Id (News Release) This week dairy farmers and industry partners gathered in Boise for the United Dairymen of Idaho’s annual meeting. The group gave out several awards at the event to honor dairy farmers who have achieved excellence in their industry.

MILK QUALITY AWARD WINNER — Adrian Kroes and Mike Siegersma, SunRidge Dairy (Nampa). The SunRidge Group consists of four dairy operations with ownership and management by family members. SunRidge Dairy’s dry lake operation milks 3,000 cows three times per day and ships about
265,000 total pounds of milk per day. Employing more than 30 people, the dairy regularly trains its workers for their specific job responsibilities and animal welfare, maintaining strict guidelines and compliance regarding animal care.

FRIEND OF THE INDUSTRY AWARD WINNER — U.S. Representative Mike Simpson. Raised in Blackfoot, Simpson is serving his ninth term in the House of Representatives for Idaho’s Second Congressional District. He currently serves on the House Appropriations Committee and the Congressional Dairy Caucus and chairs the Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development. Simpson has stood in support of the dairy industry many times, including his stance on immigration reform.

HALL OF FAME INDUCTEE — Adrian Boer (Jerome). Boer has worked in the dairy business for more than 24 years and manages a herd of 5,500 cows, producing an average monthly 12 million pounds of milk. Boer has a long history of serving the dairy industry. He has been actively involved and served on the Northwest Dairy Association/Darigold board of directors since 1991 and has held many different positions, including vice chair and treasurer. In addition, Boer has served on the boards of United Dairymen of Idaho, the Idaho Dairymen’s Association and Milk Producers of Idaho. Boer’s dairies have received the National Dairy Association’s quality award recognizing high quality milk. He also holds a Hall of Fame Award from the Idaho Cattle Association.

Here’s another photo in case you need it — this one is of Milk Quality Award winners Adrien Kroes and Mike Sigersma. I don’t know the name of the gentleman on the right in the second shot — I’m told he is a rep from DeLaval who physically handed them the award.

Read more at http://www.kmvt.com/content/news/United-Dairymen-of-Idaho-announce-annual-award-winners-353083851.html